A client asks you to rename a site from acme-staging to the production name acme . The moment you rename it in the app, the DB backups, screenshots, and thumbnails you had been collecting all appear to disappear . The files are still on disk, but the new directory is empty. The data hasn't carried over as "the same site." It's a trap you can fall into on day one, and we did — with our original design. Here's how we redesigned things so renames don't orphan data. Why the d...